Chasing Simone


Howdy, Colosseo!

Howdy, Colosseo!

Don’t ask who but I’m glad that I went to his city this week. The plan of spending two days in Rome was set last month when my friend finally bought a one-way ticket home. I said to her, “I’ll accompany you to your departure gate” . So, I booked myself a bus ticket last week to Rome.

Three times of visiting this city and I’m loving it more and more. This time, my visit was a bit special because I was accompanied by special people. At first, it  was only me and my best friend. Then our group was completed by two of my classmates from the university, Gustavo and Silvia (remember my Cosenza night tour?). And so, we started our vacation (let’s call it a blink-of-an-eye vacation since it was only 35 hours in total).

We took the night bus from Rende and spent 6 hours to reach the city of love (I think “Roma” is the anagram of “Amor” hihi). We went straight to the ground level to deposit our stuff (my backpack, and a 20 kg-luggage of my friend). This was the only convenient way to enjoy Rome: without heavy stuff.

Just for info, if you want to deposit your luggage, The Termini Station provide you with the deposit point service. It is located at the underground floor after platform 23 and 24. You can use the elevator to go down one level. It cost 5 euro for the first 5 hours. If you’re exceeding the limit of this hour they will charge you for 0.70 cent per each hour. The luggage’s weight is limited up to 20 kg each. Is it safe? Yes! because you are given a ticket to take out your belonging and you pay it after. This was my second time of using Termini Luggage Deposit Point. So far, it’s safe enough.

Luggage’s stuff done. It’s time to grab some breakfast.

No need time to find bar to have some coffee in Rome. We went across the station and relaxed ourselves with a cup of cappuccino for me and a cup of macchiato for my sweet little friend. I called Silvia and agreed to meet them at Spagna. She told me to take coffee “con calma” which is another way to say “just take your time and enjoy”. Okay, then, we decided to set “con calma” as our theme this time.

DSC08552

The best part of travelling (at least for me) is when you’re travelling in calm, not in a rush. Just like what we had since we were enjoying every minute that passed before our eyes. Tourists crossing the street, filling the city tour bus, immigrants were busy persuading tourist to take the bus by offering the city tour flyer, it’s a real holiday! A view that I’ve missed since a long time ago. I took a deep breath and stunned myself. Yes, I really need vacation after all these times of closing myself for staying just around home and campus.

Well, at least I’ve been to Rome before. For me, Rome is like home. So, we relaxed our shoulder from the heavy backpack by sitting outside the cafe, chattering, sipping the coffee, and sharing Pain-au-Chocolait meanwhile across the street, the bustling life of Termini Station enliven the heart of Rome.

Rome is my great escapades this time and I always love this city but the best is not yet to come. Our stomachs were full, the energy meter had reached its optimal level, now it’s time to meet our crazy couple while I was still thinking whether Simone would pass me by the sidewalk or at the crossing line, hmm…