The Fall Back


DSC04374

The fall walk

Autumn had finally arrived as the fresh summer night breeze now is slowly replaced by a bit of frosty breeze. Colorful tank tops, sandals and shorts has been replaced by dark thick jackets and boots and here I am, on my third autumn marking my third year (gosh, I can’t believe it’s been three years) and hopefully will be my last year in Italy.

This autumn, once again, I saw one by one the people who started the first year with me, hatched from their “eggs”. By eggs I mean, they finished their study and graduated. Somehow, yes, I feel my time is not so far. I’m both excited and a bit “blank”. Excited since I really can’t wait to finish and by “blank” I mean “indescribable”. Some part of me said that I can’t wait to get off the ship but some part told me no need to rush just enjoy the remaining time.

Every time I walked pass by the campus, I looked at the mountains. They’re there since the first time I arrived in this city. They don’t change. They didn’t and they won’t. I was wondering how many people had been in where I stood now, staring at them, at their silence.

I’m ready to walk out but yet I’m afraid where I will step. But, I guess every step we take is a new chapter in our life. Like a blank page where new memories awaited to be written.